Stalking is the New Black?

I know that I have been pretty silent over the past couple of months. The first issue was that I had the cold from hell. It started around Halloween and every time it was just about over, I had to travel somewhere and relapsed. This happened so many times that I finally just decided to stay in one place until it is long gone. Just relapsed a bit again last night, ugh.

While it seems that I am ill, the truth is that I haven’t had a really bad cold for well over a year. I am much more healthy than I have been in over ten years.

The second issue I had was with a stalker. Glenn didn’t really want me to talk much about this online because the threat wasn’t totally eliminated. I have kept relatively quiet about it in the past couple of months. Eventually, however, it started bothering me more and more than I’d allowed a couple of people to silence me.

Now, had the threat been directly solely at me I’d never have stayed silent.  As I’ve stated throughout my life, I am certainly not a victim. I don’t play that game of being threatened and/or bullied by someone and capitulating. I leave that to the progressives. They can have it.

In this case, however, the threat was consistently more directed at GLENN than me! I guess stalkers believe that eliminating the spouse will help them get closer to the source? I don’t know, I’ve never stalked anyone before. Seems like a huge mental illness to me. At any rate, since my loved one was being threatened, I took his wish into consideration and kept my big, fat yap shut for once. It is one thing to be flippant and defiant about ones own life, it is much harder to maintain that attitude when the person closest to you is having his life threatened by a stalker!

In better news, I have gained back all of the weight I lost last year! My pancreas seems to be behaving wonderfully. No longer am I the 120 lb. weakling. I am not sure how long it will last, but right now I am in heaven, able to eat again with less stress than imaginable (after having pancreatitis for five years, it is impossible to eat without fear of another attack. But right now I am running very good).

Since I’m staying put until I am completely recovered from this cold, I have no idea when I’ll make it up to MGM. I’m sooooo feening on that cardroom.

I did get to play in Fort Lauderdale, however. This was during the time I wasn’t allowed to speak freely regarding my whereabouts. Yeah, Florida poker is awesome! The play is so unbelievably loose. Unfortunately, Glenn forgot our bankroll and so we just had to play for the bare minimum with some stray twenties that I had in my wallet. Glenn busted early, but I managed to triple up my first buy-in when my AKo hit two pair on the turn.

Later (after breakfast), I busted my second min buy-in when my AA was called all-in by 76s which hit trips on the river. Since I had such a small amount of money with me, I wasn’t able to play O8, PLO or the mixed games they were spreading. Next time we travel I am going to make a check-list, so we won’t forget again (this is the 2nd time Glenn has forgotten our bankroll on a poker trip and has had to either get money wired or go to a bank to have some poker money transferred). I guess I should be in charge of these things, but he is the one with the key to the kingdom, so from now on I’ll just be the one in charge of telling him not to forget ;)

Speaking of Glenn and poker, I think that the thought of PLO has somewhat renewed his interest in playing more often. I have been teaching him beginner PLO (although I am a beginner, too)! The variance almost gave him a heart attack at first, as it did me, but he will eventually grow used to it. For people who are ultra conservative, it seems like such a roller coaster to double up, bust, bust, triple, bust, double, double, triple, bust, double in such a short span of time. We tend to play games with low variance and even the ones we play that have higher variance than PLO (Stud high) are limit games, so the swings don’t seem quite so erratic. Glenn is the king of LL Draw High, which is a super low variance game. He had a hard time accepting the highs and lows of PLO the first time he played. Now he seems to be handling it better.

Expect more posts soon as my hubby is about to reach the big 50 and our anniversary is also right around the corner!

God bless.

About Felicia Lee

Poker, Writing
This entry was posted in Life, Omaha Eight or Better, Poker. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

