Beyond the Mask

Glenn and I are having a great time in Vegas. The Orleans is much improved since the last time I was here!

On the first afternoon (Saturday) I accidentally entered one of the events. I had no plans to play it, but John stood in line and held a place for me for so long while I got my card that I felt like it would be rude to decline. At that point, other than about a one hour nap, I’d been up for 31 hours straight. I figured I’d be dead money, and I was.

On the plus side, the guy to my left was a Brit who was from Manchester and played extremely well. He and I talked the entire time and in the end he won the whole thing. Woohoo, congrats Mark. I’ll do a complete write-up with pics when I get back home to NC.

I tried to get some sleep after I busted out, but my cold relapsed and had also turned into laryngitis, which means I can’t speak. And that is where hundreds of people got so lucky! Non-stop jabber Felicia was mostly silent Felicia.

The tag team event was very fun. I did so well in the beginning. I would chip up quite a bit, then we would switch and John was holding steady or down. So I was able to chip up John again, only to switch and see he’d lost all of my gains and sometimes even more! Poor John was running bad, and since he’s much more of a loose player than me, that meant the dents in our chips were bigger. Bah, here I wanted a partner who would provide a counter-point, but what I didn’t think about was that our stacks would also swing wildly and if he was running bad, well that meant both of us were running bad because I’m typically not ever going to be the chip lead, being such a rock.

So we lingered around a while, but then the blinds went nuts and John was down to two big blinds when we switched. I shoved with AQs only to run into kings and I was out. I had just doubled him up on the other table, so at least he had five big blinds. He ended up shoving with sixes which was called by JTo and died by trip jacks.

I found a last minute partner for Glenn. Scott is one of the only players I’ve ever met in the free league who actually looks at his opponents, not the board when he is playing. I noticed that right away, since I am used to the amateur league being full of, well, amateurs. That is the point. Scott at least tries to play well. So I told Glenn that they should partner and that turned out to be a great pairing. They both played very well and everyone knows that Glenn is a wonderful player. They had a great sense of each other and knew how to play out hands—mid hand at that, when they were tagged. They ALWAYS made the right call, even when all of the chips were on the line, when involved in a big hand and forced to switch. I have never seen such a great dynamic as the way those two worked together. I personally witnessed three mid-hand switches when every one of their chips were on the line and in all cases they did the right thing.

In the end, although Glenn and Scott were the short stacks, all remaining participants agree to an even chop. The blinds were so high than no one had any chips. Even the chip leads were sitting on something like three big blinds (I’m not sure about this one, because it was in the middle of the night and I was already in bed, having stayed up for 40 hours straight).

Carl told me I made a grave error in judgment going for the counter-point perspective rather than someone who plays more like me and not partnering with Glenn. I don’t know, he could be right, but hindsight is 20/20. Had John built a huge stack like he is wont, then we might have had two giant leads, which I would be able to hold steady during the switches, while he greatly chipped up being the bully and been able to win the whole thing. So I don’t regret my decision. John is a great player.

During the TOC event, I had a great first table. I was able to dominate the whole thing and bought a lot of pots. Sometimes the dynamics in the free league are such that I am the only experienced player and this was it. Unfortunately, we broke early and at my next two tables I never really got anything going on, while the blinds went wild. I made a couple of mistakes which I will try to address in a later post and wanted to slap myself silly.

Glenn never really had a stack and went out when his AJs met AQo. I went out not long after (I had already blown the whole thing for myself with those two mistakes). Finally I had only 3 bb’s. An EP player raised with A4s, I defended all-in with K6s. Although I flopped a four-flush, he flopped two pair,  turned a boat and IGHN.

I wish I could speak. My tables have been serious and morose. I tend to be the table cheerleader when this happens and get everyone talking/loose/happy. With no voice that means I can’t fulfill that role. Bah.

We played a lot of cash games. Orleans is known for their LO8, so I have been playing that in my spare time. The games are typically good, although natch there are a ton of grumpy O8 local nits. One thing I did NOT miss about The Orleans. What I did miss was the $3 rake! Oh, how good we used to have it. The games are easy to beat and the rake is outstanding.

Last night there was a costume party. We were lucky enough to run into two lovely locals from Burlington and sat next to them and John who easily won the costume contest with his BDSM outfit (love it, but then I love kink and pain, woot).

I didn’t wear a costume, but did buy one of those little masks they sell at The Orleans, just to be fun.

wtp-party-mask

wtp-party

Until the next report, take care and God bless.

About Felicia Lee

Poker, Writing
This entry was posted in Poker. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

