Coaching Qualifications

Because I am getting such overwhelming requests for coaching, I decided to type up a quick clarification before leaving the state today.

I am through being kind and generous when it comes to coaching. If you are picked, you are either going to do as I say, or you are going to find another coach. I am sick and tired of hearing these worn-out excuses and lies when I am the one providing the virtually free training.

I am down to one NC student, someone who wishes to go pro. I doubt I will EVER take anymore amateur students from North Carolina or the lammer league. It is way more trouble than it is worth. I do have a couple of pros or aspiring pros from up north, but they are part-time students and a lot of it centers around mentor-ship. They absolutely know the poker scene and we have no issues. Here are some things to consider if you want coaching:

  • Subscribe to my blog or I will never consider coaching you (at least you’ll know where I am in the world without endless calling/texting to find out what is up with me)
  • Replies to e-mails/articles are a must. I don’t want to hear whiny excuses about how you are unable to type or have no response to the excellent information I am sending you
  • Stop assuming I want to sleep with you. I don’t. This is a business relationship
  • If you aren’t interested in playing professionally, look for another coach
  • If you haven’t accepted by now the huge luck factor and variance in poker, you need to come to terms with that BEFORE asking for my help
  • I am generally not going to back anyone. If I feel someone has the skill to become a world-class player I may back him on my own terms. I have only done this with ONE student, and it ended in failure (local hero, not world-class material)
  • If you find some overwhelming need to constantly lie to me (sometimes about things that don’t even matter!) the relationship is over, if it ever began in the first place
About Felicia Lee

Poker, Writing
This entry was posted in Hold'em, Life, Poker. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

