Bring on the No Limit Baby! Open Internet Challenge

Bring on the No Limit Baby!

Back in the old days of the poker boom, we would often do little things to eliminate boredom and challenge ourselves anew. Sometimes it was the RGP challenge, the 2+2 challenge. WhiskyTown (Russ) once spread around the Open Internet Challenge. Or in other words, running up a little scratch, sometimes a “free” starting bankroll from an online poker site to see what could be done. In September 2004, Glenn decided to take Russ up on his challenge and here were the results:

 

(Guest post by Glenn)

Well, I don’t know about the rest of you guys, but I’ve been working it, working it. And it’s not always roses. Last month I tried to do the Online Internet Challenge (OIC) after WhiskeyTown talked me into it; darn you! OK, I’ll come clean… he didn’t talk me into it, he just told me about it and I thought I’d give it a try. So instead of my normal grinding at the $25 NL tables on Party (with my Paradise Draw thrown in here and there) I started playing the limit $.50/$1 tables on Party again.

Boy in the beginning, it was great! After having a losing month (after my disastrous “shot” at 15/30), I was really running well. Ran my $40 “buy in” (for the OIC) up to a little over $80, then started playing $1/2 on Party for the first time. I had some ups and downs, but eventually got up the OIC ‘roll to about $100. Then, nothing stood up! I’d get all the “monster” pairs broken (Ed Miller calls AA & KK “monster” pairs in his celebrated book, Small Stakes Hold’em). Seemed I’d always end up with these big pairs with limpers already in (a few times I had these hands right on the button), and I knew my raise was getting no one out!  They would get run down, be dominated from the start (KK vs AA), or somehow get outdrawn. My really strong hands, like flopping a set, nut straight, etc., I’d seem to get no value out of! Like they knew what I held and would just fold to me.

Even through all these beats and struggles. I persevered! I said, “a little variance isn’t going to get me down! I can ride the storm! This is why I waited to play these levels anyway isn’t it? I built my ‘roll on Party up and now I can weather the bad times.” However, the bad times kept coming! Ugh! What gives? Either the table’s too tight or too loose. Get no hands at a tight table and you just blind away money. Get hands run down on the loose tables and I call/raise off money. I get AKo and raise and get 3 callers. Flop AJx, I bet, get 2 callers. J on the turn, I bet, get raised, I am lone caller (could be same hand, could be semi-bluff, so I call). Q on river, I check-call to see AQo! I was in the lead the whole time, until the river. Ugh!

I even started playing 4-tables at once to try to lessen the variance. Hmmm, just seems I’m losing faster! LOL!

Yesterday, I finally started playing the $25 NL games again, hoping the change would be good. What was I thinking playing limit? Oh my goodness! Doubled through yesterday, doubled through today, and I have my ‘roll on Party almost back up to where it was before I started this whole nonsense (just five bucks shy ;)

So, what does this all mean?? Stick with what you’re good at! I know I’m a good NL player. I know that I can beat the games for a decent BB/hr. I can play limit here and there for a change, but I was trying to play exclusively limit. There have been discussions on boards about which has the higher variance, and its “hands down” limit. My nature is to abhor change; variance is change… in the wrong direction :-P

Therefore, bring on the NL baby!

About Felicia Lee

Poker, Writing
This entry was posted in 2+2, Hold'em, Poker. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bring on the No Limit Baby! Open Internet Challenge

  1. whiskeytown says:

    whiskeytown here – I think I got up to the 2nd to last limit, lost enough cash to go to the previous limit, and chickened out taking my $1100 with me – I remember the early .50/$1 were the toughest, but on party poker, at that time, it wasn’t that tough to move quite a ways – lots of money almost literally lying around – (memories – )

    here is what I recall – start with $40 and play that limit till you move up to the next one – I considered doing this on Bodava too – but it’s hard to find any decent limit games on that site – you would want to select tables with larger than normal pots generally

    0.50/$1 – $40
    1/2 – $80
    2/4 – 160
    3/6 – 400
    5/10 – 800
    10/20 – 1200
    15/30 – 1600 up to 2000 when you run away – LOL

    my other serious grinder for a reward/goal was I remember grinding out to get 4000 FPPs or whatever on Doyle’s room to get Super System II before it was released – I did a lot of micro NL grinding over several weekends to make that happen – as it turned out, you got a lot of points for dragging a pot and a lot of points if the pot got big so it was mostly waiting for the big ones – I ended up getting the book and coming out with about $200 profit – over time I lost it – I guess when you have a goal, it’s easier to work for it – LOL

  2. bagsmode says:

    Yeah, the party games were awesome at the time. Nice to hear you got so far with a good chunk-o-change to show for it ;)

Leave a Reply

