Carbon Stud 8 Tourney

Carbon Poker

Up until Sunday I only had enough cash at Carbon Poker to buy-in to one of the Stud Poker Maximus III events with the freeroll money they gave me and I’ve been grinding up.Since they still haven’t started the satellites I went to check out the Stud tournaments they run on a daily basis.The Stud high only was pretty limited, but the Stud 8 looked good. The structure was great, with a lot of play. I know Stud 8 is one of the toughest tournament games to play correctly, so although I have been out of the game for a long time and don’t have Ray’s book on me, I figured I had to be a favorite and bought in.

Fast forward a few hours and I busted out on the bubble. I wasn’t deterred though, I know a good mark when I see it.

Yesterday I bought in again. This time I was also moved quickly from table to table, experiencing a wide variety of players and table dynamics. For the most part, though, my tables were tight and passive during the initial stages, in which the antes and bring-ins are so tiny compared to the stack sizes. Although I won some hands, my stack only grew from 1k to 1400 the first hour or so.

As time went on the play got more aggressive. The antes and structure was finally starting to eat into the total amount of chips in the event. I was so lucky in that during the first 200 hands or so I only lost two pots seen all the way to the river. I either split or scooped. For most of the final two table play and FT I was the chip lead off and on. I just stayed tight and picked my spots. I also got very, very lucky.

My luck ran out when I got HU against a tight, passive player. I never won a hand again. No matter what I started with she outdrew me. She scooped, scooped and scooped until she was the chip lead (we started HU play about 65k vs. her 10k). Eventually she got even, then she became the lead, then she quickly won. The last ten hands she either started very well or outdrew me. I’m not complaining, I was extremely lucky during the entire event up until the last ten minutes or so.

Anyway, now I have the scratch to buy into all of the sats for next months events, woohoo. I think I’ll be playing this tourney daily from now on, lol.

I also noticed they had a Stud 8 freeze-out listed in their Stud tourneys. So I went to look at the structure and starting chips, etc. As I was checking things out I noticed the total run-time for the event yesterday. OVER 12 HOURS!!!

I think I’ll need a power nap today to pull that one off!

Until Carbon makes depositing easier and starts their satellites, I think freerolling these events playing the Stud tourneys is a great idea (at least for me). Hope you can join in. Oddly they get three times the players I expected (about 68 for Sunday; 70 yesterday).

Chipsahoya, I’m coming for you! Today freerolls, tomorrow 10k Stud 8 

The Stud/HORSE/PLO/8 events listed for PMIII are as follows:

Mon, December 3rd, 2012 20:00 Poker Max – #16: $5K Gtd STUD 55.00 5.00
Fri, Dec 7th, 2012 20:00 Poker Max – #28 – $5K Gtd STUD8 55.00 5.00
Fri, Nov 30th, 2012 19:00 Poker Max – #4: $10K Gtd PLO8 30.00 3.00
Sat, Dec 8th, 2012 17:00 Poker Max – #31 – $10K Gtd PLO8 55.00 5.00
Tue, Dec 4th, 2012 19:00 Poker Max – #17: $10K Gtd PLO 55.00 5.00
Fri, Dec 7th, 2012 19:30 Poker Max – #27 – $5K Gtd PLO 30.00 3.00
Sun, Dec 2nd, 2012 17:00 Poker Max – #12: $10K HORSE 30.00 3.00

About Felicia Lee

Poker, Writing
This entry was posted in Poker, Tournament Poker. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

